Countries in arrears in the payment of their financial contributions under the terms of Article 19 of the UN Charter

Under Article 19 of the Charter of the United Nations, a Member State in arrears in the payment of its dues in an amount that equals or exceeds the contributions due for two preceding years can lose its vote in the General Assembly.

An exception is allowed if the Member State can show that conditions beyond its control contributed to this inability to pay.

As of 23 May 2024, five (5) Member States are subject to the provisions of Article 19 of the Charter [see document , , , , and ]:

* At its 16th plenary meeting, the General Assembly adopted , thereby deciding that the Comoros, Sao Tome and Principe and Somalia shall be permitted to vote in the General Assembly until the end of its seventy-eighth session.

MoreFor more information, see the Committee on Contributions